Logo for the HOPE Scholarship

From Abbeville in Wilcox County to Zebulon in Pike County, Helping Outstanding Pupils Educationally (HOPE) has provided more than $10 billion of financial assistance for educational programs beyond high school.

The legislation for this program was scripted in 1992 under the supervision of Governor Zell Miller and launched a year later to provide assistance towards the cost of tuition at eligible Georgia postsecondary institutions to incent and reward Georgia’s high achieving students.

Funded by the Georgia Lottery for Education, this unique initiative has helped more than 1.8 million students at eligible state public and private universities and public technical schools to create the “better-educated work force…and invest in (Georgia’s) economic future” as Miller envisioned in his 1992 State of the State Address.

HOPE consists of six different aid programs. For more information on eligibility requirements, program applications, award amounts, participating institutions and other program-specific information, visit GAfutures

HOPE Programs